The best laid wedding plans

Alright, I’m about to drop some legit wisdom on y’all, and I’m guessing it’s something you’ve never heard or experienced before. I’m quite certain I’m the first to actually think about this.

Wedding planning is hard.

I know, right?! It takes a lot of time, thought (and money), and then something else comes up that you never even considered and now you have to deal with it. I’m kind of surprised no one has pointed this out before.

For serious, though, planning our upcoming wedding has been quite the experience for Kelli and me. I think my favorite part is when people ask how the plans are coming. It makes perfect sense – they know we’re planning our wedding and have an idea what all that entails so they’re simultaneously asking about how we’re doing and providing encouragement that we can make it.

But here’s the thing: I have absolutely no idea how the planning is coming. I think it’s going really well. But since this is the first wedding I’ve had to plan (well, kind of…), I don’t really have many points of comparison. And I’m sure despite all we’ve accomplished to this point and how good we feel about our progress, we’ll come up to the final two weeks and discover all of the things we hadn’t previously considered. That will be fun!

One of the biggest difficulties has been balancing traditional aspects of a wedding ceremony with our (okay, mostly my) desire to have the experience reflect who we are as a couple. I don’t want the stodgy, super-serious wedding because Kelli and I are only mostly stodgy and super-serious.

There are a lot of wedding traditions that don’t make a whole lot of sense to me, simply because I always want to know the reason and meaning behind traditions. They remind me of the Jim Gaffigan bit about holiday traditions, where the more you think about it the more questions arise.

I’ve had some awesome ideas on how to remake some of these traditions in a more fun and entertaining way. Some of my ideas have made it through the planning process, while Kelli has (unfortunately) vetoed some. So as incredible as it would be to have a Flour Girl who carries a box of flour down the aisle and proceeds to bake cookies during the ceremony in an Easy-Bake Oven (in honor of Kelli’s baking degree and skills), that will not be happening.

That is merely one of countless amazing rejected ideas, but we did get some fun ones through. Although even when I tried to go super old fashioned and stodgy with a top hat and cane I got the veto. In some ways I can’t say I blame her.

The most important thing for me as we plan this wedding has been that we make it our wedding rather than just a wedding that happens to feature us as the participants. I could not be more excited about the vows and the dress and the tux (we’re going to look good. Real good. Hey everyone, come see how good we look!) and many more of the very traditional aspects that match the standard of weddings over the years. But this wedding will absolutely represent Kelli and me with Disney references, some puns and maybe even a few #hashtags.

It’s all been a process, and with about nine weeks remaining we still have a lot to do. I’m sure the final days will be full of last-minute plans and something will inevitably go wrong. Perhaps the colors won’t quite match or the venue could have technical difficulties.

But regardless of how everything else unfolds and all the frustrations that go into the months and months of planning, the most important parts have actually been quite easy. Kelli and I will both be there, with rings and vows, and at the end of the day we’ll drive away to begin the next phase of our life together.

The only way it could be better would be if we had some fresh Easy-Bake Oven cookies…

2 responses to “The best laid wedding plans

  1. Pingback: This Week’s Links « Timothy Siburg

Leave a Reply

